Tushar Kumar
Tushar Kumar
11 min read

IPL Purple Cap: A Comprehensive Guide for Bettors

What is the Purple Cap IPL? It is a well-known award given to the best wicket-taker in the IPL season. Simply put, a bowler who manages to take the most number of wickets during the season gets the Purple Cap.

You are probably wondering why you need this information, right? However, if you are going to bet on IPL, you need to be doubly sure that you know everything about this championship. As the more you know, the more effective your bets are.

When you know the IPL statistics, including who the Purple Cap holder in IPL is, it is easier for you to predict. So far, Parimatch is one of the best bookmakers where you can successfully bet on cricket!

IPL Purple Cap Prediction

The first bowler who was awarded the Purple Cap was Sohail Tanvir, a well-known cricketer who had 22 wickets in 11 games in the 2008 season. Dwayne Bravo is a record holder as this man had 32 wickets. But how to predict the winner of the 2021 season? The easiest way to make the right IPL 2021 Purple Cap prediction is to consider the statistics of the previous games. This is where you can’t rely on pure luck; base on facts instead. So let’s get down to this question in greater detail.

IPL Purple Cap Top 10 in 2021

So who will receive the Purple Cap in 2021? Harshal Patel is most likely to get the Purple Cap in 2021. This man is a prominent Indian first-class cricketer and right-arm bowler. He has already taken 17 wickets! Let’s take a closer look at the best bowlers in this season as this information might help you make the right bets!

1Harshal Patel7717282575/2715.11
2Avesh Khan8814302313/3216.50
3Chris Morris7714262244/2316.00
4Rahul Chahar7711282024/2718.63
5Rashid Khan7710281723/3617.20
6Sam Curran779252173/3424.11
7Pat Cummins77926.52373/2426.33
8Kyle Jamieson779242213/4124.55
9Deepak Chahar778241934/1324.12
10Mohammad Shami88828.42342/2129.25

As you can see, now we have a few players with similar stats. So it will be more exciting and interesting to follow the upcoming IPL matches to see the results!

IPL 2020 Purple Cap List

In the 2020 season, Kagiso Rabada, a South African International cricketer and right-armed bowler, got the Purple Cap. In the 2020 and 2021 seasons, he played for Delhi Capitals. Let’s get down to a list of the best bowlers from the previous season:

1Kagiso Rabada1717305.45484/2418.26
2Jasprit Bumrah151527604044/1414.96
3Trent Boult15152557.245704/1818.28
4Anrich Nortje161622615123/3323.27
5Yuzvendra Chahal15152157.14053/1819.28
6Rashid Khan161620643443/77.20
7Jofra Archer14142055.43653/1918.25
8Mohammad Shami14142053.44603/1523.00
9Varun Cakavarthy131317523565/2020.94
10T Natarajan16161662.55042/2431.50

IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Well, what player has got the most Purple Caps? Bhuvneshwar Kumar, a talented cricketer from Sunrisers Hyderabad has the highest rate for a Purple Cap winner. In 2016, he followed up the season with 23 wickets, and in 2017 —- with 26 wickets.

The more you know about cricket, the more effective your bets are. Check up on our comprehensive list of Purple Cap holders in IPL. This information might improve your betting strategy. Our IPL Purple Cap holder list includes statistics from 2008.

2008Sohail Tanvir (RR)1122
2009R. P. Singh (DC)1623
2010Pragyan Ojha (DC)1621
2011Lasith Malinga (MI)1628
2012Morne Morkel (DD)1625
2013Dwayne Bravo (CSK)1832
2014Mohit Sharma (CSK)1623
2015Dwayne Bravo (CSK)1626
2016Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)1723
2017Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)1426
2018Andrew Tye (KXIP)1424
2019Imran Tahir (CSK)1726
2020Kagiso Rabada (DC)1730

On Parimatch, you can test your betting strategy and wager on your favorite cricket team or player. We have an unsurpassed variety of betting markets and very lucrative odds. So bet on cricket right away!

IPL Purple Cap Rules

A Purple Cap winner in IPL is a bowler who takes the most number of wickets during the IPL season. This award is not new and has always been an inseparable part of this tournament. The term Purple Cap means most wickets. This award usually goes from one bowler to another one as the championship progresses. However, IPL live Purple Cap is specific to IPL, not cricket in general.


What is the meaning of Purple Cap?

Purple Cap means the award given for most wickets. The IPL Purple Cap holder is the bowler who takes the biggest number of wickets by the end of the season.

Who won most Purple Cap in IPL?

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, a cricketer from Sunrisers Hyderabad has won the most Purple Caps in IPL. In 2016, he finished the season with 23 wickets, and in 2017 — with 26 wickets.

Who have the Purple Cap?

In 2020, Kagiso Rabada from Delhi Capitals won the title. This cricketer had 30 wickets at the end of the season.

Who gets Purple Cap in IPL?

A bowler with the most number of wickets at the end of the IPL season gets this award. Check up a list of IPL Purple Cap holders before placing your bets.

Parimatch Guides to Top IPL Players and Teams

Just like you, we appreciate the strongest and the toughest in cricket, and that’s why we have prepared the following articles about the IPL legends. We hope you enjoy them!


Overall, the best wicket taker at the end of the IPL season gets the Purple Cap. If you are going to bet on cricket, you need to be no stranger to all the awards and peculiarities of this game. When you know the previous statistics, it will be easier for you to predict the results of the upcoming game.

Cricket betting is not based on pure luck. This is where you need to base your predictions on the history of the previous games, awards, injuries, etc. Moreover, you need to monitor IPL live score Purple Cap if you are going to wager on this award!

After you finally make your decision, sign up for Parimatch! We have an excessive amount of betting markets, profitable odds, and a user-friendly mobile app to bet on the move! So join Parimatch right now and place your winning bets!

Don’t miss these tournaments:

Indian Premier League
Twenty20 Blast
Tamil Nadu Premier League
ICC T20 World Cup 2022
European Series T10
Cybercricket - T20 National Cyber Pro League
Simulated Reality League - Indian Premier League
Simulated Reality League - Big Bash League
Simulated Reality League - T20 International
FIFA World Cup
England Premier League
La Liga
Serie A
NBA Summer League
Cyberbasketball - NBA